Coronavirus now present in 27 African countries- See list inside

The World Health Organisation (WHO) has revealed that over 300 confirmed cases of Coronavirus in Africa have been confirmed.

WHO Regional Office for Africa located in Brazzaville, Congo, said that 27 countries have been affected by the deadly virus.

The UN health agency revealed the information through its official Twitter account @WHOAFRO. It also stated that the Government of Benin on Monday saw the country’s first case of coronavirus.

The global body has further revealed the breakdown of confirmed cases.

Algeria 48, South Africa 51, Senegal 24, Cameroon 3, Nigeria 2, Burkina Faso 7, Togo 1, DRC 3, Cote d’Ivoire 5, Ghana 2, Gabon 1,

Kenya 3, Ethiopia 4, Guinea 1, Rwanda 5, Namibia 2, E Guinea 1, Seychelles 2, CAR 1, Congo 1, Mauritania 1, Eswatini 1, Liberia 1, Egypt 110, Morocco 28, Tunisia 18, Sudan 1.

WHO Regional Director for Africa, Dr. Matshidiso Moeti is urging African countries to be very health conscious and alert especially now that the disease has been officially tagged a global pandemic.

Dr. Matshidiso Moeti is charging every country to scale up its emergency readiness and swift response.

“Cases are still low in Africa and it can remain like that with powerful collaborations from all African leaders to fight the new coronavirus”, the director said.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.