Abia state governor fires 21 cabinet members, retains only 6 commissioners


The preceding governor of Abia state, Governor Okezie Ikpeazu as just done the unthinkable. The development was confirmed by Enyinnaya Appolos, the governor’s chief press secretary, in a statement.

According to Appolos, the governor retained six out of the 27 commissioners who had been with him in his administration. He listed them as Eziuche Ubani, Commissioner for Works; John Okiyi-Kalu, Commissioner for Information, and Aham Uko, Commissioner for Environment. Others are Obinna Oriaku, Commissioner for Finance, John Ahukannah, Commissioner for Health and Umeh Kalu, the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice.

He said that the state government sincerely appreciated the members of the dissolved executive council for their service to the state. The outgoing commissioners were directed to hand over state government property in their possession to the permanent secretaries of their various ministries. The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) recalls that Mr Ikpeazu was reelected for a second term.


About Joshua Samuel 4336 Articles
Editor in Chief at Get247News. An interesting writer and digital marketer with a keen interest in politics, celebrity stories, and technology.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.