PFA Team of the Year: Pogba joins as Hazard misses out

Paul Pogba has joined Virgil van Dijk and Raheem Sterling in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year, with the Manchester United midfielder the only non-Liverpool or Manchester City player to be included in a star-studded XI.

The World Cup winner has faced questions over his consistency during the 2018-19 season, but the Frenchman has done enough to impress his peers with 13 goals and nine assists.

He is picked alongside City pair Fernandinho and Bernardo Silva in the midfield of the latest English top-flight selection.

Chelsea talisman Eden Hazard is among the other notable absentees, with the Belgian overlooked despite recording 16 goals and claiming 13 assists, with him also making the six-man shortlist for the Player of the Year award.

Here’s the team:

GK: Ederson

DEF: Trent Alexander-Arnold, Virgil Van Dijk, Aymeric Laporte, Andy Robertson

MID: Paul Pogba, Fernandinho, Bernard Silva

ATT: Sadio Mane, Sergio Aguero, Raheem Sterling