Finally FG Approves N5 Billion Take-Off Grant for Maritime University, Okerenkoko


The Maritime University, Okerenkoko, Delta State has been granted approval by the National Universities Commission (NUC) to commence degree programs effective for the 2017/2018 academic session.

The NUC accredited the commencement of academic activities in three faculties namely Transport, Engineering and Environmental Management.

According to reports, the Faculty of Transport has four departments, the Faculty of Engineering has five departments, while the Faculty of Environmental Management has four departments.

Federal Government also approved an increase in the take off grant allocated to the university from N2 billion to N5 billion.

In a related development, an additional N1 billion was approved by the government to support the provision of infrastructure in the new university.