TODAY in Nigerian history (Re: June 9, 20)

On June 9th, 2015, the 8th National Assembly of the Federal Republic of Nigeria was inaugurated.

Fast facts:

The National Assembly comprises 469 members elected across the 6 geopolitical zones of the country.

The National Assembly consists of two chambers – the Senate which is the upper chamber and the House of Representatives which is the lower chamber. The Senate has 109 members while the House of Representatives consists of 360 members.

Only six out of the 109 members in the Senate are women.

Senator Bukola Saraki was nominated for the office of Senate President by Senator Ahmed Sani Yerima and was seconded by Senator Dino Melaye. A call for further nomination was not answered as a possible contender to the office, Senator Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan was not present, hence Senator Bukola Saraki was declared elected Senate President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

For the House of Representatives, Honorable Yakubu Dogara was elected Speaker House of Representatives. Honorable Dogara polled a total of 182 votes to defeat his rival Honorable Femi Gbaja Biamila who polled 174 votes.

The 8th Assembly is to run till June 9th, 2019.